Skip to content

Slug in the sky

November 12, 2010

Well, it’s been nearly two months since I wrote on here. The truth is, one of the main reasons I started this blog was to have an outlet and to try to keep my priorities straight while finishing my PhD.  However, in spite of my best efforts, I have allowed the PhD to consume me lately and I am just now beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel – and oh what a sweet sight it is!!! This PhD has been really difficult for me for a range of different reasons which have changed as I’ve gone along. Initially, the work was fine but I had moved away from my family, my friends, and everyone and everything I knew and loved, and so in spite of enjoying all of the new experiences, I was incredibly homesick. As the PhD progressed, I settled into my new life and although I still missed everyone back home like crazy, I have had an amazing experience, met amazing friends, and met the man of my dreams. However, the PhD itself turned out to be an incredible stress and an incredible trial for me. For the first time in my life, I felt that even if I worked as hard as I could, I wouldn’t be able to accomplish what was asked of me. It drove me to despair at times and led to many sleepless nights, tummy aches, tears, etc. However, I am hoping to submit the written portion of my thesis one week from today and I am starting to realize what a great accomplishment it has been for me on both an academic level and also a personal level. I’m not recommending rushing out and signing up for a PhD by any means and I couldn’t even say yet whether it has been worth the agony I’ve gone through but I have to admit that it feels good to accomplish something which has been such an incredible, long-term challenge. It’s not over yet but I’m in the home stretch and I’m sprinting for the finish line as fast as I can!

These picture were the inspiration for the title of this post – I took them a few weeks ago on a day when I was working from home. The slug climbed up our door over the course of an entire day. I loved the image of the slug up against the reflection of the blue sky and clouds after it worked so hard to get there. Sometimes when I needed some inspiration I pictured the slug inching its way up the door at a similar pace to the pace I felt I was progressing in my Phd! I figured if the slug could do it, so could I – and I’m nearly there now!

Until next time,

~Emily~

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 3, 2011 4:44 pm

    Good writing..!! 🙂

  2. January 13, 2012 5:05 am

    Good luck with your PhD! I am working on my Masters and I can’t imagine going a step past that degree…lol

    http://shoecloszet.com

Leave a Reply

