Skip to content

September 11th – a day of reflection.

September 11, 2010

It seems strange to write my first post on September 11th. I am currently sitting on my couch and watching the ceremonies which are being held in New York and other parts of the US. It is a very sad day for so many – a day when so many lives ended and so many others were changed forever. As I watch the ceremonies I am incredibly moved by the angiush evident on the faces and in the voices of family and friends of the victims. I am touched by their incredible pain and I can’t help imagining what the past nine years have been like for them. However, I find myself smiling through my tears. I am struck by the joy and pride each person seems to feel in remembering their loved ones, and it makes me realize how precious each day is.

I woke up this morning feeling stressed out about laundry, cleaning, PhD work, and filling out job applications. All of these things need to be done, I know it is normal to get stressed out in life, and I know I will get stressed out about unimportant things again. I don’t want to ignore those responsibilities and I don’t want to ignore my feelings, but I definitely don’t want to let the mundane details of life cloud my view of all of the wonderful things I do have in my life (whether the laundry gets done or not) – I have the most amazing family, boyfriend, and friends anyone could ever ask for, and these are the things I want to focus on.

Today is another reminder to me of why I want to change my focus, and the fact that sometimes this needs to be a conscious choice. This blog is about my quest to do just that. I have no idea who will read this blog but I hope that eventually, by being open about my own struggles and my triumphs, no matter how big or small they may be, someone else will be able to identify with some of my experiences, and I hope that it may help someone to begin their own journey toward happiness through choosing the parts of life they want to focus their attention toward.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 1:33 pm

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

